The Marlowe
Philharmonia Orchestra: Marin Alsop And Jeneba Kanneh-Mason

Philharmonia Orchestra: Marin Alsop & Jeneba Kanneh-Mason

The inimitable Marin Alsop takes to the podium in Canterbury for the first time.

Marin Alsop conductor
Jeneba Kanneh-Mason piano

RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 2
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10

The first woman to conduct London’s Last Night Of The Proms and to serve as the head of a major orchestra in Britain, the United States, South America and Austria, Marin Alsop is one of the most powerful and inspiring conductors of our time. We are lucky enough to witness Marin conduct as the Philharmonia’s Principal Guest Conductor in this wonderful concert full of iconic music.

A piano part with more memorable melodies than many composers write in a lifetime, Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto is arguably the most popular in classical music history. Jeneba Kanneh-Mason made her Philharmonia debut with the piece in 2022, a performance in which she was praised for her ‘poetry and confidence’ (The Guardian). She returns to win the hearts of the audience in Canterbury.

Shostakovich’s epic Symphony No. 10 completes the programme. Rumoured to contain a musical depiction of Stalin, this symphony certainly speaks of darkness and fear. But Shostakovich also wove in a motif whose notes represent his own name – the individual standing up against oppression, humanity and creativity defiant and unvanquished.

Supported by

Pharon Independent Financial Advisers Limited

Philharmonia Orchestra: Marin Alsop & Jeneba Kanneh-Mason