The Marlowe
Philharmonia Orchestra: Russian Classics Part 1
Resident Orchestra at The Marlowe

Philharmonia Orchestra: Russian Classic Part 1

One of the world’s great orchestras on your doorstep.

Han-Na Chang conductor
Daniel Lozakovich violin

Sofia Gubaidulina Fairytale Poem
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5

From delicate strings to towering brass, join conductor Han-Na Chang for the first of our two concerts celebrating the golden age of Russian music.

Few works epitomise the era like Tchaikovsky’s turbulent Fifth Symphony, a work full of love, fate, despair, and a blazing finale that sweeps across the orchestra.

The Violin Concerto sees Tchaikovsky in a happier time of his life, its music growing from a timeless melody that instantly entrances the listener, placed tonight in the hands of soloist Daniel Lozakovich, an “exceptional talent” (Le Figaro).

To open, Sofia Gubaidulina’s atmospheric Fairytale Poem tells the charming story of a piece of classroom chalk that dreams of drawing beautiful scenes.

Supported by

Pharon Independent Financial Advisers Limited

Philharmonia Orchestra: Russian Classic Part 1